Dear vegans,…

 

*Disclaimer! I do not intend to discriminate against anyone with this post! Spread love not hate!*

 

I am an avowed meat eater and little by little I feel discriminated against in a society that seems to be living from avocado on toast and quinoa. We are confronted with the vegetarian/pescetarian/vegan movement 24/7 through the media. “How to make a vegan steak”, “How going vegan saved my life”, “Why all meat eaters are murderers”. Ok, ok, I have watched numerous videos about veganism, I have listened to Freelee the Banana girl talking about her high carb diet on Youtube and have seen videos of animals being tortured on farms, and I totally get where vegans are coming from. But I still don’t feel like eating meat is a crime.

Unfortunately, I got to experience vegans as aggressive missionaries who feel the need to comment on everybody’s eating habits and choice of food. I had one friend who went vegan overnight. From then on she was mainly eating raw food like fruits and vegetables. I’m not someone to judge her for her decision to go vegan, the point where I felt egged on was when she starting preaching about her new lifestyle during lunch time on a daily basis. She even got aggressive as more and more friends began to ignore her and here advices.

Not everyone falls in love with the idea of never eating a burger again. Having spinach and smoothies and meat substitutes doesn’t sound desirable to everyone. And that’s what most vegans fail to accept. Eating my turkey bacon sandwich sitting next to a vegan makes me feel like a non-Catholic in a church. But I’m not a bad person for eating what I want. I don’t have a problem with eating less meat for the environment’s sake, I’m just not ready to ban all animal products from my diet. I simply don’t believe that such an extreme nutrition is the best for the human body or at least my own body.

What I am saying is that if I don’t judge vegans for trying to imitate a hot dog with a disgusting soy tofu recipe (and YES, I tried some and SORRY, it was revolting) then I expect them to let me eat my real hot dog in peace. I think the world would be a better place if everyone concentrated on being the best person they can, rather than trying to impose their mindset and lifestyle on others. Be you, do you but accept that not everyone needs to be just the same as you!

Comment below what YOU think about the topic!

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Dear vegans,…

  1. I could not agree more with you. But – soy “meat” prepared right is delicious! I tried to explain this to a friend recently: Don’t say ‘I will substitute meat with tofu’ – say ‘I have a new, interesting ingredient now’. If you bite into the most delicious soy steak, it will always be disappointing when you expected real meat. But, if you think of your soy steak as a complete new meal – it will taste great. I was a vegan for a long time and went back to meat just a few months ago, but I didn’t quit tofu or seitan or soy milk…
    And I am glad to have all these different flavors to choose from now.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment! I totally agree! I personally never drink ‘real milk’ for example, as I replace it with soy/rice/almond or coconut milk in any meal possible. Maybe I should try out a different tofu brand to get a better ‘tofu meat’ experience😊wq

      Like

      1. I plan to publish some recipes soon. I will let you know 🙂 And for the vegan milks: I like soy milk a lot, I *love* rice/almond milk and I like cooking with cashew cream (or milk) – just when I tried a glass of selfmade almond milk, I found out that I actually have a little almond allergy. So, no pure almond milk for me 😦

        Like

  2. Heey, vegan gal here! 🙂

    I really appreciate your non-aggressive way to talk about the topic, but I would like to state my point of view to make it easier for you (and fellow meat-eating friends) where I and other ethical vegans are coming from.

    We do not differentiate between non-human animal species. To us, a pig’s or a cow’s life is just as valuable as the ones of our companion animals. Seeing other people eating meat or animal products triggers horrible pictures of abuse and slaughter in our heads. It might be comparable to you the feeling you get, while having to watch someone beating up a dog and slitting its throat afterwards. And since we are confronted with that every single day over and over again, it makes us angry and sad about this injustice. We cannot understand, how anyone could hurt another living sentient being in such a cruel. But we have to adjust in some way to our environment. For some of us, it’s extremely hard. This can result in an “angry” and “missionary” approach. And I agree, that is neither respectful nor an effective way to make people interested in helping the animals. These guys exist, but I promise you, there are sooo many cool, friendly and still passionate vegans out there! The “missionary” ones are just more present I think. 😉

    I wouldn’t go that far calling veganism extreme. A whole foods, plant-based diet is proven to help prevent (and in some cases even reverse) the 15 leading causes of death in the U.S. For more detailed information I recommend reading “How not to Die” by Dr. Michael Greger from nutritionfacts.org. 🙂 http://nutritionfacts.org/book/
    In an ethical manner, I would even call veganism the opposite of “extreme”, since it refuses to fund the torture, exploitation and slaughter of innocent beings.

    At last you brought up the argument that it’s your personal choice to consume animals and animal products. Yes and no. 😀 Practically, you’re free to eat whatever you like, no one is stopping you. But I think it’s important to remember, that I am not the only one affected by my food choice. It’s not like I’m deciding to wear a dress or jeans today. The statement to “live and let live” by meat-eaters when it comes to the choice of eating a steak or not, is cynical in my eyes, since it tries to justify the killing of another being. It involves somebody else, there is a potential victim. This automatically makes it an ethical decision, even if it doesn’t come across as such in our society. Nobody can tell you what to eat our what to do, but it would be awesome, to keep at least this last point in mind. ❤

    I think you were mostly talking about the health and diet aspect of veganism. But I think it's important to remember, that veganism is more that a diet. It's an ethical movement for the well-being and freedom of every animal, whether it has skin or fur. 🙂

    If you might be interested to learn more about this ethical aspect, I highly suggest to watch the documentary "Earthlings": http://www.earthlings.de/

    Sorry, if I made any grammar or spelling mistakes, I'm from Germany. 😉

    Lots of love ❤
    Marie

    Like

    1. Dear Marie, thank you so much for your kind words! Honestly, I expected to get plenty of negative response to my post, that’s why I really appreciate your reaction. I have to admit, that I totally get your point when you are talking about how the consumption of animal products supports the torture and slaughter of innocent animals. Therefore I’m going to check out your linked information for sure:) I’m also happy to have met someone to show me a complete different view of the whole vegan lifestyle and mindset! Hope you’re having a nice evening!

      Like

      1. Oh my gosh, that’s so amazing! ❤ ❤ I was a little afraid at first, if it would come across too "preachy", but I'm suuper glad you see it in such a positive way! I'm so happy right now, your comment made my day. 🙂 I wish you all the best. ❤ (And if you might have more questions, contact me at any time!)

        Like

  3. Hi!

    So i came across your post when you commented about it on a vegan IG page and here’s what i feel about it all.

    I’m a new vegan (i was researching it for 1.5 years and finally made the switch a few months ago – i like to make sure i do things right and know what i need to know so the research is so important to me).

    I like how you wrote your piece, and shared your opinion, it’s refreshing considering the others i’ve read that non-vegans have written and all they have is hate towards the lifestyle.

    Now, i’m so sad you’ve met preachy, annoying vegans – i myself came across some online (like Freelee) but i feel this is so unhelpful in person. I like to be quiet about it unless someone were to ask me or if i have to mention i’m vegan for like a dinner party etc. i feel it’s so much more helpful if people already know you and like you than if you changed your personality to 100% vegan and nothing else. That way people are more likely to listen and understand your point of view on the matter.

    (I’m realising i’m forgetting parts of your post but i’ll comment on what i remember haha)

    I think one thing non-vegan fail to realise is that the vegan lifestyle isn’t about finding non-meat substitues for burgers or steaks or hotdogs. Most of us just have nutritious whole foods instead of looking for a soy hotdog or burger to fill us up. But of course there are the unhealthy junk food vegan and though i wish they would care more about their health too, there are a countless number of non-meat substitute and not all of them are bad. Personally i never buy any – but i did go to a vegan fast food place last week and nearly died because their soy hotdogs were so damn good. I feel like it’s trial and error when it comes to this.
    And sure like you mentioned, it would feel sad knowing you can never have a beef burger but for many(if not all) vegans, we don’t even want them anymore because of the animals that were killed to get us this burger.

    Many people say things like you do you and let me do me, and sure that would be fine but what vegans see is that there is another party being affected who we don’t ask – The animals being tortured and slaughtered. They’re the ones dying for us and they never got a second option.

    We just don’t think it’s right to kill these animals purely for taste especially considering the negatives to eating animal products regularly (our health and the environment)

    (Not every vegan would agree with me) but if you had your own farm with your own animals and if one of them died of old age and you wanted to eat them, go for it. Or if you came across road kill or something, same thing. It’s the meat, egg and dairy industry that’s so terrible and what we want to make go away.

    I think i may have covered everything i wanted to haha. Again thanks for writing the post so nicely and i hope you understand my point of view on the matter as well.

    Like

    1. Hello😊 Thank you so much for your comment! I am glad that your reaction is so positive! At first I expected to get a lot of criticism from vegans for my words, therefore it makes me really happy to hear such nice words from you. Meeting (non-preachy) vegans like you has definetly helped improving my opinion on the whole movement. I also totally get your point. I think the meat/dairy/egg industry is a problem that I should look into some more to understand the vegan lifestyle on a whole new level. Have a nice day!

      Like

  4. Dear author,
    I am vegan, but I COULDN’T AGREE WITH YOU MORE! Despite the fact that it’s completely not true about vegan nutrition being bad for anyone’s body – it’s all about balancing everything well.
    But it’s frankly true that all these obsessive vegans are so disturbing! I don’t like them. I! Being vegan!
    Anywho, if you’d like to – you can check out my video: https://youtu.be/x5CkqAtynBE where I basically talk about how sick and tired of them I really am 😀
    Namaste!

    Like

    1. Dear Jennifer, I have taken a look at your video! I really appreciate your honest words! Since I’ve met some less obsessive vegans trough my post lately, I start to understand that not every vegan wants to persuade me to never eat meat or dairy again. Thank you for your openness about the whole topic! Have a nice day!

      Like

  5. Hi there!
    I’m not a vegan, but a vegetarian. (although I want to switch to being fully vegan soon)
    Just wanted to say that a lot of my friends are vegetarians and vegans, but not all of them! And I’m telling ya, when we’re all sitting togheter, some of them eating a turkey sandwich and some of them eating something without meat or diary, NO ONE is judging eachother’s choices. Also, u were saying u watched Freelee the banana girl, and i gotta say that girl’s outta her mind. I dont think she’s an accurate representation of the vegan society! I think with all of the fuss about being vegan people are forgetting what its really about! So; just eat whatever u want to eat, no one’s forcing u to go vegan! Xx

    Like

    1. Thank you for your lovely words! That’s exactely what I was trying to say! Being tolerant and open about other people’s lifestyle is the message I was trying to send. Wishing you good luck on your way to go fully vegan! Hope you have a nice day!

      Like

  6. Hi there, I sent you a DM on Instagram with my thoughts on this topic (it was a long message sorry!) I’m not sure if you’ve got it but I’ll leave the main points here for your readers as well:

    1. Speaking of discrimination, we discriminate against non-human animals so heavily that we condemn them to enslavement, abuse and death. This is a product of speciesism which is a prejudice like racism, sexism, homophobia etc.
    2. Non-vegan propaganda is in our faces all the time (eg McDonald’s advertising, milk industry campaigns).
    3. Please don’t let your bad experiences with some vegans cloud your opinion of veganism – veganism is simply trying one’s best to do less harm.
    4. Expecting vegans to respect carnism (essentially the opposite of veganism) is akin to expecting feminists to respect sexism or racists to respect racism – hopefully that explains our perspective a little more.

    I also linked you some info to learn more; on the environment (Cowspiracy.com/facts), nutrition (nutritionfacts.org/Dr Greger’s speech, pcrm.org) and ethics (Earthlings, Melanie Joy’s TED Talk).

    Thanks for reading 🙂

    Like

  7. Dear Claire, thank you so much for your comments! I really appreciate that you took the time to comment on my post twice! Also I totally get your point. Through my article I have come to meet a few very open-minded vegans who have improved my opinion on the whole movement. Therefore (althouhg I’m not planning on going vegan any time soon, to be fairly honest) I am going to look into the ethic part of the lifestyle more. I am really thankful for all the information that I have received to increase my knowledge! Hope you have a nice day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

